In 1730 a group of Christ's followers "joined together to be the church” which was to become The First Presbyterian Church of Babylon, Long Island and built a place of worship on a piece of land just west of what is today the old Ukrainian Church on South Country Road (now Montauk Highway) in West Islip. Surnames of early members of the church are the namesakes of streets, parks and historical sites: Muncey, Weeks, Wickes, Howell, Sammis, and Higbie.
The Revolutionary War brought British soldiers to the area. After using the house of worship for barracks, the British tore it down in 1778, transporting the lumber to the Town of Hempstead where it was used to build living quarters for military personnel. Since then we have built four church buildings (all still in use!) and are presently renovating the third as a fellowship and hospitality hall.
The church has been a witness to Christ in the South Bay area of Long Island through the Civil War and all the major historical events of the 19th and 20th centuries. The times are a changin' and the gospel is just as relevant as ever.
Presently we are recalibrating our ministries to include an expanded staff, renovated facilities, and new opportunities to grow in our faith. We continue to have a vibrant ministry to the homeless of the area as well as expanded ministries to children, young families, youth and seniors, and sports-oriented folks.